Upsilon Lambda Omega Chapter was chartered in Desoto, Texas, January 1997, under the direction of 24th International President Eva L. Evans and South Central Regional Director Polly Sparks Turner.

The idea of a graduate chapter came from Mrs. Sheila Kyles, past International Undergraduate Member-At-Large, who recognized the need to service the southwest community of Dallas. Ms. Kyles with the assistance of Ms. Adrienne Thomas gathered with eighteen other excited members and were encouraged to organize a new chapter that would expand the presence and services of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc in the DFW Metroplex.

The first meeting of the The Pearls of the Ivy Pride Interest Group was called to order October 14, 1995, 12:45 PM at the home of Ms. Adrienne Thomas. Members discussed requirements for starting a new chapter and ideas for upcoming community service projects. Community service projects completed were Voter Registration Drive, Salvation Army Angel Tree and the Adopt-a-Student Mentoring Program.

On January 11, 1997, The Pearls of the Ivy Pride Interest Group became Upsilon Lambda Omega Chapter. These twenty women re-pledged their hearts, mind and strengths to Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc. and rededicated their continued service to all mankind. The following members are certified charter members:

Sheila D. Thomas-Kyle (President) Rhonda Johnson
Adrienne Thomas (1st Vice President) Vanessa Lewis
Valerie M. Sanders (2nd Vice President) Cherie Jordan
Sharon Workman (Parliamentarian) Adrienne P. Lofton-Davis
Katrina Vance (Ivy Leaf Reporter) Shelby Onic
Alisa Allen Esta Ayanna Palmer
Sherrye Cravens Deanna M. Wilson
Nicole Dunlavy Paula Ogden-Mason
Kimberly Evans Tracy Thompson
Stephanie Fantroy Kim White
Upsilon Lambda Omega Chapter Charter Members
Upsilon Lambda Omega Chapter Charter Members